The Buzz


What’s Happening in Your Neighborhood! Submit your news to The Buzz and we will also post on our Facebook page

Email us at gdr@greatdanereview.com if you have news to report!
Click here to see Show Results

SUBSCRIBE! Now offering 4 print issues a year!  Don’t miss out!

Subscribe today 4 issues only $65 email us today gdr@greatdanereviewew.com or call 208-412-3858
—————————————————————————————————-


03/05/17
The Great Dane Club of California is hosting a Sanctioned Puppy Match (Great Danes Only) and an All-Breed CGC Test on Saturday, April 15, 2017 at the Canyon RV Park at Featherly Regional Park in Anaheim. Pre-entries are available (deadline April 10) as well as day of match entries. Come and join in the fun! There will also be a rummage sale, lunch, and a free handling class. In addition, practice novice rally runs are being offered ($1 per run) with 10-15 stations (leash only). ~ Registration (confirmation) @ 9am-12pm/ (CGC)@ 9am to 10pm. ~ CGC Testing @ 10am-12pm ~ Novice Practice Rally Runs @ 10am-12pm ~ Free Handling Class and Lunch @ 12pm ~ Puppy Conformation Judging @ 1:00pm. Please see detailed flyer on club web-site at www.gdcc.org or contact match chairperson Michelle Cacace at 951-743-3807 or michelle.cacace@yahoo.com

10/2016
Great Dane Club of America Charitable Trust – Congenital Juvenile Megaesophagus Research

10/11/16
Relief from Ticks in the Fall and Winter? Not so, says the Tick Guy!
tick2

10/10/16

2016 GDCA National Videographer

 

3/25
Great Dane noted as one of 14 low maintenance breeds read article
3/22
FDA does double talk on meat ingredients. …
3/22
Go team Odin, congrats!

Weekend update: Team Odin aka GCH Southern Star Norse God Odin at Valhalla handled by Doug Toomey and owned by David Moore and Sonya Moore (breeders) and Steve Hill of Texas had a great weekend in PA. BOB under Judy Daniels, BOB under Larry Sinclair and BOB under Barbara Finch. He was also awarded a Group 3 by Rita Biddle. Go Team!
Per Kathy Toomey

3/8/16

    Per Mari Hayhurst
 I would like to thank all of the members of the Great Dane Club of St. Louis, for selecting me to judge their Specialty, this past Friday, March 4th. I would also like to thank all of the exhibitors who brought their lovely dogs to me. I had a wonderful time! I got to hug, pet and love dogs to my heart’s content, received puppy kisses, renewed friendships with people I used to compete against in the early 1990’s,like Winton and Shirley Reynolds, and met wonderful new friends. Thank you all for choosing me to judge and allowing me the honor of judging your dogs.
Mari.

2/22/16
The Reputable Breeder Difference
2/5/16
The 8 Most Confident Dog Breeds

1/30/16

Fundraiser
Fire damaged a building at All The Dogs of Big Bone Canine Rescue…

1/30/16

1/29/16
Interesting findings in early neuters of pets in a new UC Davis study

 

1/23/16

Primary Orthostatic Tremor In Great Danes

1/23/16
Great Dane from Nevada Expected to Take Record for World’s Tallest Dog

1/19/16
NEW CHAMPION
CH Chanoz If Your Happy And You Know It “Giddy”
Breeder/Owner: Lori Beilke
Handler: Lynda Moriarty

1/8/16
Why “Overgrowing” Your Large Breed Puppy is Dangerous

1/7/16
Common misconceptions about raw diets, a realistic view

12/29/2015

We are looking for regional reporters! If you would like more information please call caryn@ 208-412-3858

 

12/21/15
DEADLINE EXTENDED for January Print Magazine and National Slideshow to 12/29!

12/10/15
First Test Tube Puppies Created!
12/8/15

We have premium positions available for the January

12/8/15/

Next issue January 2015, Deadline is December 10, email gdr@greatdanereview.com or call 208-412-3858 to reserve your space

12/8/15

Raw Diets and Bloodwork Results: Should you be concerned?
By Dr Jean Dodds

12/6
Wanted: 4,600 Dogs for Bloat Study

Tufts University researchers are looking for 4,600 purebred dogs to participate in a landmark study of bloat, a life-threatening condition that primarily afflicts larger canines.

The study will use DNA taken from blood and abdominal tissue samples to investigate possible genetic links to bloat. The condition—a stomach dangerously filled with gas, fluid or food—can kill a patient even after immediate veterinary treatment and surgery.

“Bloat is a challenging disease because it escalates quickly,” said assistant professor Claire Sharp, BVSc, MS, Dipl. ACVECC. “The dog is fine one minute and in a life-threatening situation the next. Dogs often die from bloat while their owner is off at work or sleeping at night.”

Sharp and colleague Elizabeth Rozanski, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM, Dipl. ACVECC, received a $250,000 grant from the AKC Canine Health Foundation to examine bloat.

Teaming up with researchers from the Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT, the two Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine professors hope to enroll 200 dogs from each of 23 breeds. Ideally, half of the dogs are bloat survivors and half have been bloat-free.

More than 150 dogs were enrolled as of late June.

“We are confident that a significant amount of risk for bloat will be explained purely by genetics,” Sharp said.

The sought-after 23 breeds are Bassett hound, Bernese mountain dog, Bloodhound, Borzoi, Boxer, Briard,  Doberman, English Setter, Fila Brasillerio, German Shepherd, German shorthaired pointer, Golden Retriever, Great Dane, Greater Swiss mountain dog, Irish Setter, Labrador Retriever, Mastiff or Bullmastiff, Newfoundland, Saint Bernard, Siberian Husky, Smooth Collie, Standard Poodle and Weimaraner.

Veterinarians and dog owners interested in participating in the study may email Sharp at claire.sharp@tufts.edu.

11/22
A Life Well Lived ~ Remembering Maureen Clark

 

ThumbSniper-Plugin by Thomas Schulte